The North Coast Regional District (formerly the Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District) is one of 27 Regional Districts in British Columbia. It was incorporated on August 17, 1967 as Skeena A, two years after regional districts were created in the province. On March 10, 1973 the name Skeena A was changed to the Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District. Today, the North Coast Regional District serves an area of 20,028 square kilometers including Haida Gwaii (formerly the Queen Charlotte Islands) and communities along the North Coast from Port Simpson to Hartley Bay. It is run by a ten-member board representing the Regional District's various communities.

Beginning in 2015 the Regional District began a comprehensive rebranding, which included a change in name from the Skeena-Queen Charlotte Regional District to the North Coast Regional District (NCRD) which received approval in the form of letters patent from the B.C. Minister of Community Sport and Cultural Development on September 19, 2016. During the process of choosing an new name extensive consultation was done with local First Nations, residents, levels of government, and other stakeholders.